PEMBROKESHIRE COAST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 11th JUNE 2014

REPORT OF ADMINISTRATION & DEMOCRATIC SERVICES MANAGER

SUBJECT: MEMBERSHIP OF THE AUTHORITY AND ITS COMMITTEES, GROUPS AND EXTERNAL ORGANISATIONS

Purpose of Report

- 1. To review the appointment of Members to the Authority's internal Committees, Groups and External Organisations, and
- 2. To seek confirmation of those appointments.

Background

It is the practice at the Annual General Meeting to review the membership of the Authority's Committees and Groups, together with Members' representation of the Authority on external organisations.

To aid Members in their deliberations, the membership for 2013/14 is shown in Appendix 1 with any vacant positions highlighted.

Audit and Corporate Services Committee and Operational Review Committee Members will recall that a review was undertaken earlier this year, when the Authority's Review Committees were reduced from three to two. The new Review Committees will each comprise nine Members (6 County Council and 3 Welsh Government) and will meet quarterly.

Expressions of interest to date include:

AUDIT AND CORPORATE SERVICES REVIEW COMMITTEE

Councillor M James Councillor Mrs L Jenkins Councillor R Owens Mr Allan Archer

OPERATIONAL REVIEW COMMITTEE

Councillor AW Wilcox Councillor R Kilmister Mr AE Sangster

Investigating and Disciplinary Committee, Grievance Committee and Appeals Committee

The composition of these three Committees will be confirmed at the next meeting of the Authority as the Chairs and Deputy Chairs of the Audit and Corporate Services Review Committee and the Development Management Committee will not be known at the time of this meeting.

Substitutions at meetings

Members are reminded that it has been custom and practice for many years for a County Council- or Welsh Government-appointed Member to exchange places on any of the Authority's Committees, Groups etc. with another PCC or WG Member respectively, provided that the Administration & Democratic Services Manager is informed immediately. A report is then submitted to the next meeting of the Authority for confirmation of the exchange.

In order to simplify matters, it is intended to incorporate such custom and practice into the Authority's Standing Orders but, until such time as those Orders are reviewed and brought before the Authority for adoption, it is recommended that, in future, a Member be authorised to nominate a similarly appointed Member as their substitute at any of the Authority's Committee meetings provided:

- (a) that the nominated substitute is not already a Member of that particular Committee, and
- (b) that the Administration and Democratic Services Manager or one of her team is notified **before** the intended substitution takes place.

As such, no report of the substitution will be needed to be presented to a later meeting of the Authority for confirmation.

RECOMMENDATIONS:

Members are requested:

- 1. to confirm/amend (as appropriate) the membership of the Authority and its various Committees and Groups;
- 2. to confirm/amend (as appropriate) the Authority's representation on External Organisations, and
- 3. To authorise a Member to nominate a similarly appointed (i.e. County Council- or Welsh Government-appointed) Member as their substitute at any of the Authority's Committee meetings, provided that the conditions referred to in this report are met.

Background documents: None

(For further information please contact Janet Evans, Administration & Democratic Services Manager on extension 4834 or by e-mailing janete@pembrokeshirecoast.org.uk)

APPENDIX 1

PEMBROKESHIRE COAST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

MEMBERSHIP OF AUTHORITY, ITS COMMITTEES AND **GROUPS 2013 – 14**

NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

All Members

DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE All Members

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE (6 PCC; 3 WG)

Councillor M James **Councillor O James** Councillor PJ Morgan Councillor ST Hudson **Councillor DWM Rees** Vacancy

Mr A Archer Mrs G Hayward Mr AE Sangster

EMPLOYEE FORUM (4 PCC; 2 WG)

Councillor P Harries Councillor RM Lewis Councillor R Owens Councillor M Williams Mr D Ellis Ms C Gwyther

CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT GROUP (4 Members)

Chairman of the Authority

Chair of the Audit & Corporate Services Review Committee

Chair of Recreation and Tourism **Review Committee*** Chair of the Conservation & Planning **Review Committee***

*Note: Membership needs to be reviewed in light of reduction of Review Committees from 3 to 2.

MEMBER DEVELOPMENT STRATEGY WORKING GROUP (3 Members) Mr A Archer

Councillor M James

Ms C Gwyther

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (2 PCC; 1 WG plus three Independent

Members) Councillor M James Councillor R Kilmister

Mrs G Hayward*

Mr R Barrett-Evans Mr J Evans Vacancy

*Note: Mrs Hayward's four-year term of office has come to an end. She can be re-appointed for one further four-year term.



SDF COMMITTEE (4 PCC; 2 WG)

Councillor Mrs L Jenkins Councillor RM Lewis Councillor DWM Rees Councillor M Williams

Mr AE Sangster Mrs M Thomas

JOINT SCRUTINY COMMITTEE WITH SNOWDONIA NPA (2 PCC: 1

WG) Councillor M James Councillor R Kilmister Councillor RM Lewis

Mrs G Hayward Mr AE Sangster

STANDARDS COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS PANEL

Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Authority Chairman of the Audit and Corporate Services Review Committee Councillor M Williams One lay Member

CAREW CASTLE STAKEHOLDER GROUP (2 Members)

Chair of the Authority

Councillor RM Lewis

CASTELL HENLLYS STAKEHOLDER GROUP (2 Members) Chair of the Authority Councillor P Harries

TYCANOL WOODLAND ADVISORY GROUP (2 Members)Councillor P HarriesCouncillor R Kilmister

NOTE:

The Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority are ex-officio Members of all Committees, Groups, etc. The immediate past Chair is also regarded in this capacity for a period of one year only after vacating the office of Chair.

PEMBROKESHIRE COAST NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

REPRESENTATION ON EXTERNAL ORGANISATIONS 2013 – 14



Chair of the Authority (Substitute: Deputy Chair of the Authority)

NATIONAL PARKS WALES

Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority

WELSH LOCAL GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION COUNCIL Chair of National Parks Wales

> **CO-ORDINATING COMMITTEE** Chair of the Authority (Substitute: Deputy Chair of the Authority)

JOINT COUNCIL FOR WALES Councillor M Williams (Substitute: Councillor R Owens)

CAMPAIGN FOR NATIONAL PARKS (One Member) Mrs G Hayward

CARDIGAN BAY ADVISORY GROUP Councillor P Harries (Substitute: Deputy Chair of the Authority)

CARDIGAN COASTAL GROUP

Councillor M James

MILFORD HAVEN PORT AUTHORITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE (One *Member plus Substitute)*

Mr AE Sangster

Councillor RM Lewis (Substitute)

PEMBROKESHIRE LOCAL ACCESS FORUM (One Member) Councillor P Harries

SOUTH WEST WALES AREA ENVIRONMENT GROUP (EA WALES)

(One Member plus Substitute) Vacancy

Councillor RM Lewis (Substitute)

SOUTH WEST WALES REGIONAL AGGREGATES WORKING PARTY -**REGIONAL TECHNICAL STATEMENT MEMBER FORUM** (One Member plus Substitute) Mr A Archer

Vacancy (Substitute)

SOUTH WEST WALES REGIONAL TOURISM PARTNERSHIP (One

Member) Mr AE Sangster

WALES SPATIAL PLAN (MINISTERIAL GROUP)

Chair of the Authority (Substitute: Deputy Chair of the Authority)