Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority Annual General Meeting 18 June 2025

Report of Democratic Services Manager

Subject:

Membership of the Authority and its Committees, Groups and External Organisations

Purpose of Report

To agree the appointment of Members to the Authority's internal Committees, Groups and External Organisations.

Background

It is the practice at the Annual General Meeting to agree the membership of the Authority, its Committees and Groups, together with Members' representation of the Authority on external organisations. To aid Members in their deliberations, the membership for 2024/25 is set out in Appendix 1. Where there are vacancies, these are highlighted.

Following the departure of Dr R Heath-Davies and Mrs J James at the end of their terms of office, there is a need to elect Welsh Government appointed Members to fill the vacancies. Until the appointment of new Members by Welsh Government in the Autumn, it is recognised that this will result in existing Members having to take on additional work in the short term, and this is appreciated. There are also vacancies arising from the departure of Councillor M Wiggins and her replacement by Councillor S Alderman.

Members will note that there is a report to the Ordinary meeting of the National Park Authority regarding the future of the People Services Committee however you are asked to fill the vacancy on this Committee so as not to prejudice the decision to be taken.

It is noted that there are two vacancies on the Standards Committee – one caused by the resignation of Mrs W Taylor – appointment of her successor is in progress - and the other as Dr R Plummer's term on the Committee has come to an end. Authority appointments to this Committee are for 4 years or until the end of the Member's term of office, whichever is the shorter.

Please note that the membership of the Investigating and Disciplinary Committee, the Grievance Committee and the Appeals Committee will have to be agreed at a later date, once all Chairs/Deputy Chairs have been elected to office.

Turning to representation on outside bodies, it is noted that at the Annual General Meeting of the South West Wales Corporate Joint Committee on 27

Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority National Park Authority Annual General Meeting – 18 June 2025 May, it was agreed that the Energy Sub Committee be disbanded and merged with the Economic Development Sub Committee due to the overlapping work. The Authority's representative on the Energy Sub Committee was Dr Heath-Davies.

While Members are reminded that you are expected to serve on either the Audit and Corporate Services or Operational Review Committees, the Annual General Meeting provides an opportunity for you to step aside from serving on a particular Committee or outside body if you so wish. Please indicate at the meeting if you would like to do so.

RECOMMENDATIONS:

Members are requested to:

- 1. Confirm/amend (as appropriate):
 - a) the membership of the Authority's Committees and Groups; and
 - b) the Authority's representation on External Organisations.

Author: Caroline Llewellyn, Democratic Services Manager

Background documents: None

(For further information please contact Caroline Llewellyn, Democratic Services Manager on 01646 624804 or by e-mailing carolinel@pembrokeshirecoast.org.uk)

Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority

Membership of Authority, its Committees and Groups 2024 – 2025 (Vacancies highlighted)



NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

All Members

DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

All Members

AUDIT AND CORPORATE SERVICES REVIEW COMMITTEE (6 PCC, 3

WG)

Councillor D Clements Dr M Havard
Councillor M James Vacancy
Councillor B Price Vacancy

Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall

Councillor A Tinley
Councillor V Thomas

OPERATIONAL REVIEW COMMITTEE (6 PCC; 3 WG)

Councillor M Bowen Mrs S Hoss
Councillor T Evans Mr GA Jones
Councillor C George Dr RM Plummer

Councillor Dr SL Hancock MBE

Vacancy

Councillor C Williams BEM

PEOPLE SERVICES COMMITTEE (6 PCC; 3 WG)

Councillor M Bowen Mrs S Hoss
Councillor D Clements Vacancy

Councillor C George Dr R Plummer

Councillor M James Councillor V Thomas

Councillor C Williams BEM

EMPLOYEE FORUM (4 PCC; 2 WG)

Councillor M Bowen Mrs S Hoss
Councillor B Price Vacancy

Councillor V Thomas

Councillor C Williams BEM

CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT GROUP (4 Members)

Chair, National Park Authority

Chair, Audit and Corporate Services Review Committee

Chair, Operational Review Committee

Chair, Development Management Committee

GRANTS COMMITTEE (4 PCC; 2 WG)

Councillor Dr SL Hancock MBE Dr M Havard
Councillor M James Dr RM Plummer

Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall

Councillor A Tinley

STANDARDS COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS PANEL

Chair and Deputy Chair, National Park Authority Chair, Audit and Corporate Services Review Committee Councillor A Tinley

One lay Member

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (2 PCC; 1 WG plus four Independent

Members)

Councillor Dr SL Hancock MBE Vacancy Mr J Daniels

(until June 2026)

Councillor M James (until June Mr P Davies

2026)

Mr J Hogg Vacancy

YOUTH COMMITTEE (1 Member representative)

Mrs S Hoss Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall

(Substitute)

VOLUNTEER FORUM (1 Member representative)

Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall Councillor C Williams BEM

(Substitute)

INCOME DIVERSIFICATION WORKING GROUP (Up to 6 Members –

PCC or WG)

Councillor D Clements

Councillor C George

Councillor M James

Vacancy

Mrs S Hoss

Dr RM Plummer

NOTE:

The Chair and Deputy Chair of the Authority are ex-officio Members of all Committees, Groups, etc. The immediate past Chair is also regarded in this capacity for a period of one year only after vacating the office of Chair.

Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority



Representation on External Organisations 2024 – 25 (Vacancies highlighted)

UK NATIONAL PARKS CHAIRS' FORUM

Chair, National Park Authority Deputy Chair, National Park

Authority (Substitute)

NATIONAL PARKS WALES

Chair and Deputy Chair, National Park Authority

WELSH LOCAL GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

COUNCIL

Chair, National Park Authority Deputy Chair, National Park

Authority (Substitute)

EXECUTIVE BOARD

Chair, National Parks Wales

JOINT COUNCIL FOR WALES

Councillor M Bowen Vacancy (Substitute)

RURAL FORUM

Chair, National Park Authority

WG PARTNERSHIP COUNCIL FOR WALES

Chair, National Parks Wales

SOUTH WEST WALES CORPORATE JOINT COMMITTEE (SWW CJC)

Chair, National Park Authority Deputy Chair (Substitute)

SWW CJC STRATEGIC PLANNING COMMITTEE

Deputy Chair

SWW CJC SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Councillor Dr S Hancock MBE

SWW CJC REGIONAL TRANSPORT PLANNING SUB-GROUP

Councillor M James

SWW CJC REGIONAL ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND ENERGY SUB-GROUP

Councillor C George

CAMPAIGN FOR NATIONAL PARKS (One Member)

Dr M Havard

ALLIANCE FOR WELSH DESIGNATED LANDSCAPES (One Member)

Dr M Havard

PORT OF MILFORD HAVEN ADVISORY COMMITTEE (One Member

plus Substitute)
Dr M Havard

PEMBROKESHIRE LOCAL ACCESS FORUM (One Member)

Councillor S Skyrme-Blackhall

SAUNDERSFOOT HARBOUR ADVISORY COMMITTEE (One Member)

Councillor C Williams BEM

PEMBROKESHIRE COLLEGE ADVISORY FORUM

Councillor S Hancock MBE

PEMBROKESHIRE COAST NATIONAL PARK TRUST (Two Members)

Dr M Havard Vacancy

SKOMER MARINE CONSERVATION ZONE ADVISORY GROUP (One

Member)

Councillor C George

VISIT PEMBROKESHIRE

Councillor D Clements