REPORT OF MONITORING OFFICER

SUBJECT: STANDARDS COMMITTEE – RE-APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT MEMBER

Purpose of Report

To confirm the re-appointment of Mrs Victoria Tomlinson as an Independent Member of the Authority's Standards Committee.

Introduction

The Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority's Standards Committee comprises seven Members:

Independent Members: Mrs Victoria Tomlinson (Deputy Chair);

Mr John Daniels;

Mrs Wendy Taylor, and

Mr Phillip Davies.

Authority Members: Dr Rosetta Plummer;

Councillor Peter Morgan, and

Councillor Reg Owens.

Terms of office

The Standards Committees (Wales) Regulations 2001 stipulate that:

- (a) the term of office of an Authority Member of the Standards Committee "shall be no more than four years, or the period until that Member's appointment as a Member of that Authority ceases, whichever is the shorter", while
- (b) the term of office of an Independent Member of the Standards Committee "shall be not less than four nor more than six years". This Authority has previously resolved that the term of office for an Independent Member shall be five years.

The 2001 Regulations also stipulate that an Authority Member may be reappointed for one further consecutive term, whilst an Independent Member is prevented from serving more than one term of office as such a Member.

However, the Standards Committees (Wales) (Amendment) Regulations 2006 now provides for the re-appointment of an Independent Member for one further consecutive term of **four years** without the need for advertising a vacancy.

It is under this provision that approval is sought for the re-appointment of Mrs Victoria Tomlinson as an Independent Member of the Authority's Standards Committee.

Financial considerations

The proposal recommended has no immediate budgetary implications save that if Members did wish to advertise this post this will come with a cost

Legal considerations

The Local Government Act 2000 requires every relevant authority, which in Wales includes County and County Borough Councils, Fire Authorities, National Park Authorities and Police Authorities, to establish a Standards Committee, the composition of which is set out in legislation. The proposal set out in this report complies with the requirements of both The Standards Committees (Wales) Regulations 2001 and The Standards Committees (Wales) (Amendment) Regulations 2006.

Human Rights/Equality issues

One could argue that the non-advertisement of a vacancy on the Standards Committee precludes anyone else from applying. This will be remedied when this particular term of office comes to an end.

Risk considerations

If Members decide not to re-appoint but to advertise the vacancy instead, there is always a risk that no-one would apply. However, the recent advertisement for two new Independent Members resulted in sixteen applications being received, therefore the risk is considered to be minimal.

RECOMMENDATION

That Mrs Victoria Tomlinson be re-appointed as an Independent Member of the Standards Committee for a period of four years until the 22nd September 2024.

Background documents

Local Government Act 2000

The Standards Committees (Wales) Regulations 2001

The Standards Committees (Wales) (Amendment) Regulations 2006

(For further information, contact Mr Michael Kent, Monitoring Officer, by e-mailing michaelk@pembrokeshirecoast.org.uk)

Author: Janet Evans, Deputy Monitoring Officer

Consultees: Tegryn Jones, Chief Executive and Michael Kent, Monitoring Officer

Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority National Park Authority – 29th July 2020